The Wonderful World of Youth Ministry

When I entered my final semester of seminary, the last post to which I thought I’d be appointed was in the bizarre world of youth ministry. Rather, I’d pictured myself in a suit and tie, preaching passionately, visiting the sick, counseling the justifiably crazy, etc. This was the picture of “Pastor” that seminary painted for me. Youth ministry was nowhere on my mental radar. But then, in October, I was five months out of seminary with no job and not a single interview to speak of. The more churches I applied to, the more ridiculous I seemed as a senior pastor.

Then, out of the great unknown, my pastor was urged by our elder board (AMT) to speak with me about accepting a position as associate pastor of youth and discipleship. A long, long title, yes. During the first phone call, I responded, almost automatically, “No thanks.” But once I hung up the phone, and looked at my wife, I thought, “Why did I say no?” It wasn’t making sense any more. Had I so much gotten it into my head that I was going to be one thing (a senior pastor) that I couldn’t imagine being anything else? Was I blinded by my own desire? After speaking with Sarah for a moment, I called back my pastor and asked if I could meet with the AMT.

Yada, yada, yada…By the second week of October I’m acting whatever-my-long-title-implies pastor. It felt strange for the first few months, as though I were in a dream. Not a euphoric dream, but a symbolic dream, where you’re not sure what’s going on, who’s who, or where you are. It was confusing, both for Sarah and me.

Now I find myself still in this foreign country called Youth Ministry. I’ve been a full-time minister, and even a part-time youth minister, for over ten years. I’ve worked in student ministry loads of times, but I find myself now both intrigued and daunted by all the things I don’t know, all the things seminary didn’t prepare me for, and how our journey with God, as Howard Macy pointed out, is wilderness through and through. I am unfamiliar with the language, with the culture, and with the terrain of this new place. The path, in other words, is narrow and hard. So, slowly but surely, I am learning.

During this time, I’ve learned that my “calling” is not necessarily what I feel most confident or equipped to do. I’ve also learned not to say I’ll never do something. I said I wouldn’t lead worship again. Of course, in His infinitely wise way, od changed my desires. Anyone who says God cannot change our desires or make us willing to do something is wrong. I also said I’d never go back to student ministry. Again, I was wrong and I find a strong passion for students that I never knew was possible. I’ll be happy to be wrong most of my life as long as I’m reminded that my life is in the Lord’s hands and that He always knows and does what is best.

Most merciful God, be patient with me as I learn to do Your will…

~ by argo80 on March 9, 2010.

One Response to “The Wonderful World of Youth Ministry”

  1. I have learned in my 49 years of knowing God to hold my
    hands up and be ready for what He has for me. If He says
    yes or if He says no I am to say Ok God you are in charge,
    You are in control. Alisa

Leave a comment